Book Reviews

Book Review – Talia:On the Shore of the Sea by Joel C. Flanagan-Grannemann – @ServantsAnd #BookTwitter #BookX #ServantsOfTheMoonAndSun #FairyTales #SleepingBeauty #FairyTaleRetellings

Talia Offers Intriguing Alternate to Familiar Tale I’ll admit, it took me until well into this book to see the Sleeping Beauty connection. That is nothing of the author’s fault, it was a misunderstanding on my own part. But when I did, it was one of those delightful lightbulb moments that made everything I’d read...

woman holding mug of cappuccino

Audiobook Review – A Bean to Die For by Tara Lush – @tamaralush #ABeantoDieFor #NetGalley #BookTwitter #CozyMysteries

Like so many cozy mysteries, this book was chock-full of hilariously cute puns and adorable characters, and I can’t wait to spend more time with them. About the Book Perfect for fans of Cleo Coyle and Lucy Burdette, reporter-turned-barista Lana Lewis is back on the case when a body is found in the community garden....

Book Review – Lev Tahor by Ana Waters – #BookTwitter #LevTahor #InspirationalBooks

Waters’ book inspires, helps trauma victims heal Lev Tahor is the fourth installment in Ana Waters’ Beauty for Ashes series, which is all about overcoming, surviving, and thriving after abuse. So please know that it can be disturbing for many readers. If you are or have been a victim of abuse by family or others,...

Thriller Thursday – Book Review – The Last Remains by Elly Griffiths – @ellygriffiths #BookTwitter #CozyMystery #RuthGalloway

Book Marks Final in Beloved Cozy Series According to Goodreads, I read my first Ruth Galloway novel in 2014. I’m not sure if that’s correct as my Goodreads recordkeeping has become much more efficient (read: obsessive) since then. Either way, I’m honored and pleased to have spent possibly a decade and 15 books growing and...

Book Review – Never Be a Saint by Mark Jonathan Runte – @AuthorMarkRunte #BookTwitter #UrbanFantasy #LGBTQBooks

This is an absolutely gorgeous story. Mark Jonathan Runte continues to grow as a storyteller, weaving intricate worlds, connected throughout centuries. If you read enough of his works, you start to see repeat characters and see the overlap of interconnected mythos. About the Book 1767, the colonies stand at a tipping point with England but...

Book Review – Single All the Way by Kate Watson – #BookTwitter #RomanceBooks #HolidayRomance

Secret Billionaire Offers Up Sweet Holiday Romance During the holidays, when I wasn’t so sick I couldn’t hold my Kindle, I decided I was only reading holiday books. I had read a ton of Thrillers and intense books in 2023 so I needed a holiday break. Also I only really discovered holiday books last year,...

Book Review – On the Plus Side by Jenny L. Howe – #BookTwitter #BookX #RomanceBooks #BodyPositivity

Adorable Romcom Takes on Fatphobia Reviewer’s Note: There was a note at the beginning of the book that I will echo here. The author and I, as well as many in the fat community, use the word fat as a neutral descriptor. We are reclaiming the word to take away its power. All of us...